Реферат: English Speaking Countries

EnglishSpeaking Countries

Englishspread all over the world. Great Britain, the USA, Canada, Australia and NewZealand are English speaking countries. Why English is so extended language inthe world?

Duringthe 17th and 18th centuries British navigators sailedacross the seas with the aim of extending Britain’s power and prosperity (процветание). They colonized new territoriesaround the world, taking their language with them. The first New Worldsettlement was established in Jamestown in America in 1607. Canada was won fromthe French in 1763. During the 17th century British rule wasestablished in the West Indian islands of Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica, St Kittsand Trinidad and Tobago. Australia and New Zealand were discovered duringCapitan Cook’s voyage in 1768. English was imposed as the official language ofthe new colonies; it was the language of education and administration.

Englishspeaking countries are situated in different parts of the world and differ inmany ways. The weather and climate of these countries, and the way of people’slife differ. Each country has its own history customs, traditions, and its ownnational holidays. But they all have a common English language.

TheUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland consist of 4 parts:England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. There are no high mountains, novery long rivers, no vast forest areas in U.K. Great Britain is parliamentarymonarchy. Englishmen are proud of their traditions and carefully keep them up.Christmas day is one of their favorite holidays. It's celebrated on the 25-thof December. Traditions connected with it are to give presents to each other,to send Christmas cards and to make traditional Christmas dinner with turkeyand pudding.

TheUSA is situated in the central part of the North American continent. Thepopulation of the USA is about 240 million people. Most of Americans speakEnglish. But there we can also meet French, German and other languages. The USAis a highly developed industrial country.

Canadahas to official languages – English and French.

Australiaand New Zealand Australia and New Zealand are situated in the southernhemisphere summer, so the warmest month is January, and the coldest wintermonth is June. Snow falls only on the mountain there./>Many immigrants from England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland live in Australia andNew Zealand.

еще рефераты
Еще работы по иностранному языку