Реферат: Political system of US

Washington, the capital of the United States is situatedon theRotomac River in the District of Columbia. The district is a piece of landwhich doesn't belong to any state but to all the states. All these states aresovereignty.

Under the Constitution, the federal government is devided intothree branches.

The legislative power is vested in Congress and made up of twohouses: the Senate and the House of Representative. There are 435 members inthe House of Representative and 100 senators. Each state elects two members ofthe 100-member Senate.

The executive branch is headed by the President, who proposesbills to Congress, enforces federal laws, serves as commander-in-chief of theArmed Forces and with the approval of the Senate, makes treaties. President canveto a bill unless Congress by a two-thirds vote shall overrule him.

The vice President, elected from the same political party as theOresident, acts as chairman of the Senate, and in the event of the death of thePresident, assumes the Presidency.

The judicial branch is made up of Federal District Courts, 11Federal Courts and the Supreme Court. Federal judges are appointed by thePresident for life. Federal courts decide cases involving federal law,conflicts between citizens of different states. The Supreme court may rule thelaw to be unconstitutional.

Now about the elections. The President is chosen in nation-wideelections every 4 years together with the Vice-President.

Constitution. Constitution has been amended 26 times. The Bill ofRights guarantee individual liberties: freedom of speach, religion and so on.Later amendments abolish slavery, grant the vote to women and allow citizens tovote at age 18.

Список литературы

Дляподготовки данной работы были использованы материалы с сайта www.bigmir.net/

еще рефераты
Еще работы по иностранному языку